2013-14 Penn State Schuylkill Campus Life Awards presented

Campus Life Awards were presented for the 2013-14 academic year at an event held at Penn State Schuylkill. Students, staff and advisers were recognized for outstanding achievement or contributions to campus life.

The award for the Outstanding Student Organization was presented to WILD, Women in Leadership Development, for their efforts in raising awareness regarding violence against women. This group partnered with several other organizations on campus to raise nearly $1,000 for Schuylkill Women in Crisis.

Wesley Singh was presented with the radiologic science program JRCERT (Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology) Student Peer Award. The members of his graduating class selected him as the recipient.

The Outstanding Adviser Award was presented to David and Vicky Norris who serve as the advisers for the Business Society. They not only help students to get involved both on campus and in the community but also with finding and obtaining internships.

Yemi Olugbuyi received the Student Humanitarian/Public Service Award for her efforts on the Youth Empowerment Program. The Linda Fehr memorial award was presented to Valerie Clay for her leadership in enlightening the campus on issues important to women. The Rising Star Award was presented to two first-year student leaders: Eudora Cao and Gabe Rohrberg. Cao serves as a Lion Ambassador, member of the Business Society, member of the student activity fee committee and regularly volunteers for community service. Rohrberg is a soccer player who was elected a vice-president and then president of the Student Government Association. He is involved with the honors program and the sustainability council steering committee.

The Residential Adviser (RA) of the Year Award was presented to Kenya Pine for her efforts to build community within the residence halls, uphold University standards and provide a positive influence on other residential students. Elijah Simmons received the Unsung Hero Award for his involvement on campus and in the community while not in a traditional leadership position in an organization. He is present at almost every program on campus and volunteers at numerous programs off campus.

The Volunteer of the Year Award was presented to both Elijah Simmons for the most hours of community service and to Namei Zhang for the second most hours of community service. The Staff Service Award was presented to Karen Beruck for her extraordinary service to the campus. She regularly goes above and beyond her role.

The Student Government Association Faculty Award was presented to Ron Kelly for his dedication and determination for the community, University and everyone at Penn State Schuylkill. He always encourages and inspires students to do their best in all aspects of school and life.

Bryan Underkoffler received the Chancellor’s Award for student leadership. Underkoffler is very active on campus and heavily involved with many student organizations. He is involved with the Blue and White Society, and psychology club. He has attended several conferences, including the National Character and Leadership Symposium. He is the president of the National Society for Leadership and Success, and will be an RA next year.

The Eric A. and Josephine S. Walker Award was presented to Jeff Fritz as the undergraduate student who possesses outstanding qualities of character, scholarship, leadership and citizenship, and uses these qualities to positively influence fellow students. This individual contributes to the prestige and well-being of his campus, and the reputation of the University as a whole. 

This event was well-received by the campus community as a way to celebrate with those whose efforts serve to enhance community life on campus.

Last Updated January 09, 2015