Nanoscience expert to give 2014 Eberly Family Distinguished Lecture in Science

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- Chad Mirkin will present the Eberly Family Distinguished Lecture in Science at 2 p.m. Thursday, April 10, in the HUB-Robeson Center Auditorium on the University Park campus. This free public lecture, titled "Nanotechnology: Learning to Think Big in a Field Focused on the Small," is sponsored by the Penn State Eberly College of Science.

Mirkin is a Member of President Obama's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology, and is a world-renowned nanoscience expert who is known for his development of nanoparticle-based biodetection schemes, for his invention of Dip-Pen Nanolithography and for his contributions to supramolecular chemistry.

A faculty member at Northwestern University, Mirkin is the Director of its International Institute for Nanotechnology, the George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry, Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering, Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, and Professor of Medicine. He is the author of more than 550 manuscripts and over 930 patents worldwide, and is the founder of four companies: Nanosphere, NanoInk, AuraSense and AuraSense Therapeutics, which are commercializing nanotechnology applications in the life-science and semiconductor industries.

He has been recognized for his accomplishments with more than 80 national and international awards. He is the only chemist -- one of only 15 scientists, engineers and medical doctors -- to have been elected to all three U.S. National Academies: the Institute of Medicine, the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering. He also is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the Materials Research Society. His honors also include the Linus Pauling Medal, an Honorary Membership in the Materials Research Society of India, the Walston Chubb Award for Innovation, an Honorary Degree from Nanyang Technological University Singapore, recognition as the Lee Kuan Yew Distinguished Visitor to Singapore, an Honorary Professorship from Hunan University China, the American Chemical Society (ACS) Award for Creative Invention, the Herman S. Bloch Award for Scientific Excellence in Industry, an Einstein Professorship of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, the Edward Mack Jr. Memorial Award, the $500,000 Lemelson-MIT Prize, the Havinga Medal, the Gustavus John Esselen Award, the Biomedical Engineering Society's Distinguished Achievement Award, a Department of Defense National Security Science and Engineering Faculty Fellowship Award, the Pittsburgh Analytical Chemistry Award, the ACS Inorganic Nanoscience Award, the iCON Innovator of the Year Award, a National Institutes of Health Directors Pioneer Award, the Collegiate Inventors Award, the National Inventors Hall of Fame, an Honorary Doctorate Degree from Dickinson College, the Penn State University Outstanding Science Alumni Award, the ACS Nobel Laureate Signature Award for Graduate Education in Chemistry, a Dickinson College Metzger-Conway Fellowship, the 2003 Raymond and Beverly Sackler Prize in the Physical Sciences, the Feynman Prize in Nanotechnology, the Leo Hendrick Baekeland Award, Crain's Chicago Business 40 Under 40 Award, the Discover 2000 Award for Technological Innovation, I-Street Magazine's Top 5 List for Leading Academics in Technology, the Materials Research Society Young Investigator Award, the ACS Award in Pure Chemistry, the Phi Lambda Upsilon Fresenius Award, the Harvard University E. Bright Wilson Prize, the BF Goodrich Collegiate Inventors Award, the Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award, the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Award, the DuPont Young Professor Award, the National Science Foundation Young Investigator Award, the Naval Young Investigator Award, the Beckman Young Investigator Award, and the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation New Faculty Award.

Mirkin has served on the editoria advisory boards of more than 20 scholarly journals, including Biosensors & Bioelectronics, Journal of the American Chemical Society (JACS), Accounts of Chemical Research, Angewandte Chemie, Advanced Materials, Biomacromolecules, Macromolecular Bioscience, SENSORS, Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, Chemistry: A European Journal, Chemistry & Biology, Nanotechnology Law & Business, The Scientist, Journal of Materials Chemistry, Journal of Cluster Science and Plasmonics. At present, he is an associate editor of JACS. He is the founding editor of the journal Small, one of the premier international nanotechnology journals, and he has co-edited three best-selling books.

Mirkin earned a bachelor of science degree with Phi Beta Kappa election at Dickinson College in 1986, and a doctorate degree in chemistry at Penn State University in 1989, where he received the Outstanding Science Alumni Award in 2004, the Alumni Fellow award in 2007 and now is a member of the Eberly College of Science Dean's Advisory Board. He was an NSF Postdoctoral Fellow at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology prior to becoming a professor at Northwestern University in 1991.

Last Updated January 09, 2015