Urschel selected as finalist for AAU Sullivan Award

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. – John Urschel (Williamsville, N.Y.), the Penn State All-American guard who claimed the 2013 William V. Campbell Trophy from the National Football Foundation (NFF) as college football’s premier scholar-athlete, has been named one of three finalists for the 84th Sullivan Award, presented by the Amateur Athletic Union (AAU) to America’s top amateur athlete.

Urschel was selected from 19 semifinalists vying for the honor in 2014, which has been narrowed to Urschel, University of Florida track and field athlete Cory Ann McGee and University of Nebraska volleyball player Kelsey Robinson. The winner will be announced at an awards ceremony on Friday, April 11, at the AAU National Headquarters in Orlando, Fla.

First presented in 1930, the Sullivan Award honors an athlete who demonstrates the qualities of leadership, character, sportsmanship and the ideals of amateurism. Past football recipients of the Sullivan Award include College Football Hall of Fame inductees Felix “Doc” Blanchard (Army, 1945), Arnold Tucker (Army, 1946), and Charlie Ward (Florida State, 1993), and NFF National Scholar-Athletes and William V. Campbell Trophy winners Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997), Tim Tebow (Florida, 2007) and Andrew Rodriguez (Army, 2011.)

Last Updated March 28, 2014