Search begins for dean of the College of Communications

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- Penn State has announced a national search for the next dean of the College of Communications. Charles H. Whiteman, dean of the Smeal College of Business, will chair the search committee.

Doug Anderson, current dean of the college, has announced his retirement after 15 years of service to the University and 37 years in higher education.

Penn State’s College of Communications is home to four departments: advertising/public relations, film-video and media studies, journalism and telecommunications; and is the largest accredited program of its kind in the nation. The college’s reputation has soared during Anderson’s tenure, earning back-to-back national championships in the William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program and recognized for producing the nation’s No. 1 graduates as rated by employee recruiters. Students have the opportunity to conduct research at both the undergraduate and graduate level through the nine research centers the college operates.

“The College of Communications is a national leader in mass communications,” said Nick Jones, executive vice president and provost. “The graduates of the college go on to work for top agencies and networks throughout the world, representing Penn State as a top academic institution that thrives on achievement and excellence. The successful candidate will display innovation and visionary leadership in a changing 21st-century world and continue to build upon the successes set forth by Dean Anderson.”

With undergraduate enrollments exceeding 2,500 students annually, the college offers 650 for-credit internships at top national networks including CNN, Fox News, HGTV, E! News and ESPN. In addition to undergraduate studies, the college offers a master’s degree in media studies and a doctoral degree in mass communications.

Applications, nominations and inquiries should be emailed to or mailed to Charles H. Whiteman, chair, Search Committee for the Dean of the College of Communications, Penn State, 201 Old Main, University Park, PA 16802.

The search committee is reviewing applications and nominations beginning Jan. 20 and will continue until the position is filled. For more information about the College of Communications, visit

Members of the search committee are:

-- Marielena C. Balouris, undergraduate student in broadcast journalism and political science, and executive producer of PSN News, College of Communications;
-- Blannie E. Bowen, vice provost for Academic Affairs;
-- Julie L. Evak, coordinator of undergraduate education, College of Communications;
-- Michel M. Haigh, associate professor of communications, Department of Advertising and Public Relations, College of Communications;
-- Robert P. Martin, assistant dean of internships and career placement and senior lecturer, College of Communications;
-- BB Lois Muré, academic adviser, College of Communications;
-- Kevin R. Musick, director of development, College of Communications;
-- Patrick R. Parsons, Don Davis Professor of Ethics, Department of Telecommunications, College of Communications;
-- Robert D. Richards, John and Ann Curley professor of first amendment studies, Department of Journalism, College of Communications;
-- J. Ford Risley, professor of journalism and head, Department of Journalism, College of Communications;
-- S. Shyam Sundar, distinguished professor and co-director of the Media Effects Research Laboratory, Department of Film-Video and Media Studies, College of Communications;
-- Charles H. Whiteman, committee chair and dean, Smeal College of Business.

Last Updated February 03, 2015