Penn State Hershey employees honored at annual recognition ceremony

The annual Penn State Hershey Employee Recognition Reception held on May 22 honored 1,327 employees who reached five-year milestones in calendar year 2012. Of those employees:

  •  553 employees reached five years of service
  •  274 employees reached 10 years of service
  •  163 employee reached 15 years of service
  •  181 employees reached 20 years of service
  •  85 employees reached 25 years of service
  •  38 employees reached 30 years of service
  •  20 employees reached 35 years of service
  •  11 employees reached 40 years of service

In addition, two employees were honored for 45 years of service — Jim Jefferson, chairman and Evan Pugh Professor, Cellular and Molecular Physiology, and Linda Kilhefner, patient care secretary, Heart and Vascular Progressive Care Unit. 

Raymond Scheetz, compliance specialist in the Office of Research Affairs, was named Employee of the Year. 

The Steven and Sharon Baron Leadership Award, established in 2004, recognizes employees of the Medical Center who have demonstrated exceptional professional achievement, cooperation and teamwork.

Dr. James G. Marks Jr., chairman, Department of Dermatology, received the award in the faculty category. In addition to establishing a nationally recognized department that has served as a training ground for the next generation of academic dermatologists, Marks was recognized as creating an environment of mutual respect, mentorship and excellence in the missions of teaching, patient care, research and community service, leading by example in each of these areas.

Jim Rohacek, administrator, received the award in the manager/supervisory category. Rohacek was acknowledged for his numerous contributions to the organization during his 35 years of service. Rohacek is a team player who demonstrates a can-do attitude and willingness to develop relationships throughout the organization and externally as well. He is described as “truly vested in the success of Penn State Hershey.”

Emily Kraus, social worker, Neuroscience Critical Care Unit, received the award in the non-supervisory category. Kraus was recognized as managing patient concerns on the front line so that patients and families leave the organization feeling that Penn State Hershey provided excellent care, having addressed both their medical and social needs. Her cheerfulness, smile, compassion and willingness to always go the extra mile embody the spirit of this award.

Media Contacts: 
Last Updated January 09, 2015