New Kensington selects new slate of SGA officers for 2013-14 academic year

The Student Government Association at Penn State New Kensington reorganized in May and selected a new slate of officers for the 2013-14 academic year.

Lauren Blum, student life coordinator, works closely with the SGA board. According to Blum, the students are looking forward to serving their student body. Blum and Theresa Bonk, director of student affairs, are co-advisers for the SGA.  

“The new officers are excited and already jumping into their duties and roles with enthusiasm,” Blum said.

The 2013-14 officers:
President – Chelsea Leaks of Saxonburg (Knoch High School), sophomore, risk management
Vice President – Marissa Russo of Plum Borough, Pa. (Plum High School), sophomore, information sciences and technology
Treasurer – Cody Shoemaker of Parks Township, Pa. (Kiski Area High School), sophomore, electro-mechanical engineering technology
Secretary – Caitlyn Cody of Houston, Texas (Cypress Falls High School), sophomore, information sciences and technology
Upperclassmen Faculty Senate Representative – Ryan Barton of Cabot, Pa. (Evangel Heights Christian Academy High School), junior, information sciences and technology
Underclassmen Faculty Senate Representatives – Samantha Muhhuku of Kampala, Uganda (Uganda Martyrs Senior Secondary School), sophomore, Biomedical Engineering Technology
Ethan Ritzert of Chicora, Pa. (Karns City High School), sophomore, aerospace engineering
The SGA represents the campus’ students, providing support and advocacy, and helping them experience what the University has to offer.
For more about the SGA, visit

Media Contacts: 

Bill Woodard

Work Phone: 
Home Phone: 
Cell Phone: 

Alumni and Public Relations Specialist

Last Updated May 01, 2013