Women's golf ready to take on Big Ten Championships

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- The Penn State women's golf team begins postseason play on Friday, April 26 in French Lick, Indiana at the Big Ten Championships. The tournament spans three days, culminating on Sunday, April 28. There will be one round each day with tee times beginning on Friday and Saturday at 9 a.m. and Sunday at 8 a.m.

The Big Ten Championships are being hosted at the Donald Ross Course, which is located at the French Lick Resort. The course itself is a par-72 and is 6,121 yards long.

Head Coach Denise St. Pierre is feeling good about her team and thinks they can do very well. St. Pierre went on to say, "The team is in a good position to make a run. All of the teams are strong in the Big Ten and we have to play three consistent rounds of golf and we should be at the top."

Last year, Penn State finished in 11th place, shooting a team total of 934 (309, 312, 313). Juniors Christina Vosters (Bethany Beach, Del.), Ellen Ceresko (Jefferson Township, Pa.), and sophomore Elyse Archambault (St-Jean-sur-Rich, Quebec) look to lead Penn State to their first ever Big Ten Championship as well as be in contention for the individual championship. Archambault finished in 13th place last season at the Big Ten Championships and looks to improve her score this year. The Nittany Lions return all six starters that played in last year's Big Ten Championships and with the addition of Ceresko, who missed last year's Big Ten Championships due to injury, look to go far in the tournament.

The starting lineup for Penn State includes: senior Emily Ransone (Hilliard, Ohio), juniors Christina Vosters and Ellen Ceresko, sophomores Elyse Archambault and Katlyn Elliott (Peterborough, Ontario), and freshman Grace Chung (Ontario, Canada).

The field will be a tough one as five teams, including the Nittany Lions, enter the Big Ten's ranked in the top-50 by Golfweek/Sagarin. Purdue enters as the highest rated team in the Big Ten as they are ranked 9th nationally. Penn State is ranked at 49th while Northwestern, Michigan State, who has won back-to-back Big Ten Championships, and Ohio State sit in the middle of these rankings. Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, and Wisconsin will also be playing in the Big Ten Championships. 

Media Contacts: 
Last Updated April 25, 2013