EdVenture 2013 celebrates medical, graduate education

Pratibha Varma-Nelson will be the Woodward Lecturer at EdVenture 2013 at noon Thursday, April 25, in Lecture Room B on the campus of Penn State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center and Penn State College of Medicine. This annual event celebrates educational accomplishments at Penn State Hershey and includes the lecture, a workshop, poster presentations and award ceremony. Continuing medical education credit is available.

Varma-Nelson, executive director of the Center for Teaching Excellence at Indiana University – Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI), has been a leader in the development of the peer-led team learning (PLTL) model of teaching. She directed two National Science Foundation-funded National Dissemination Grants awarded to the PLTL project, and was the co-recipient of the 2008 James Flack Norris award for her role in developing PLTL. The title of her lecture is "Peer-Led Team Learning: A student-faculty partnership for transforming the learning environment.” Lunch will be provided starting at 11:30 a.m. Varma-Nelson will also present a workshop at 1:30 p.m. titled "Peer-Led Team Learning implementation."

The Education Celebration will continue from 6 to 8 p.m. in the University Conference Center with an academic poster session and reception, followed by presentation of the 2013 Distinguished Educators Awards and Junior Faculty Awards.

EdVenture and the Distinguished Educators Society are sponsored by the Woodward Endowment for Medical Science Education.

Media Contacts: 
Last Updated April 25, 2013