Abington SGA honors outstanding faculty, staff and students

The Student Government Association honored members of the college community last week for their dedication to Penn State Abington at the annual Leadership Awards Ceremony.

Joseph Oakes, senior lecturer in information sciences and technology, received the Chief Ogontz Award. The Ogontz award is the highest honor students can present to a faculty or staff member and recognizes the individual for his or her efforts to make Abington a better and stronger community.


Oakes has received numerous awards including the Outstanding Teacher and the Abington College Distinguished Faculty Service awards. 
Oakes established the Joseph Oakes IST Alumni Endowment in 2011.

Oakes also has been a recipient of the Lion Heart Award, presented by the graduating class of 2010. It recognizes an inspiring member of faculty, staff or administration who exemplifies the ideals of energy, effort and integrity. In addition, the person must demonstrate a commitment to excellence and uphold the standards of the University.

The SGA also presented these awards:

• Emerging Leader Award: Justin Brouse and Matt Zeiger
• Above and Beyond Award: Kejda Oreshkovic
• Penn Stater:  Will Paul
• Outstanding Program: Stand Up FTK hosted by THON
• Outstanding President: Arriana Martin, Lion Ambassadors
• Unsung Hero: Paul Sheridan
• Outstanding Adviser: James Ulinski

The Abington Christian Fellowship was named outstanding organization. It is a nondenominational, nonexclusive club that strives to provide a Christian-based environment.

The Student Veteran’s Organization of Abington recognized associate professor of English Tramble T. Turner, Career Development Center coordinator Carol DeBunda and Student Affairs staff assistant Beth Segal for their support. The SVO of Abington is comprised of veterans, dependents and supporters dedicated to recognizing the contributions of military personnel and their families. The group works to foster an environment in which veterans may learn, grow and continue their legacy of service.

Media Contacts: 
Last Updated April 08, 2013