Carnegie Building to mark 100th anniversary this week

University Park, Pa. -- The Penn State College of Communications will celebrate the 100th anniversary of its current home and Penn State University Park's original library building, the Carnegie Building, on Thursday, Nov. 18.

Events get under way at 3:30 p.m. in Carnegie Cinema with a welcome from Doug Anderson, dean of the College of Communications. Following that will be the presentation of a documentary about the building's history produced by film students under the direction of Barbara Bird, associate professor of communications.

A message from Distinguished Alumnus Larry Foster, who with his wife Ellen helped fund the most recent renovations to the building, will be followed by remarks from Associate Dean Patrick Parsons about future plans for the building. The celebration will be capped with refreshments, including a birthday cake for the building, in the lobby on the mall side of Carnegie. Self-guided tours also will be available, showcasing photographs of the building throughout its history at various spots along the way.

Industrialist Andrew Carnegie donated $150,000 for the construction of Carnegie Library on campus in 1899. Completed in 1904 and dedicated on Nov. 18 of that year, the building served as Penn State's primary library through 1940, replacing the overflowing, two-room library located in Old Main.

Through the years, the building served as home to many departments, as well as the student newspaper, The Daily Collegian. The School of Journalism took up residence there in the early 1950s, when the building was known as Carnegie Hall. By the early 1990s the College of Communications, accredited in 1994, had made the Carnegie Building its permanent home.

Contacts: 
Last Updated November 18, 2010