Commission for Women seeks award nominations

University Park, Pa. -- Each year, the Commission for Women (CFW) recognizes an exceptional mentor in the University community and celebrates women who have shown remarkable professionalism and leadership at Penn State. Nominations are currently being sought for two awards: the Rosemary Schraer Mentoring Award and the Achieving Women Award.

The Rosemary Schraer Mentoring Award is presented each spring to a University employee who exemplifies Rosemary Schraer's giving of herself as a mentor and who has voluntarily, over a period of time, helped others recognize and achieve their potential. Consideration is given to any employee (administrator, faculty, technical-service or staff member) who has a record of outstanding mentoring service that goes beyond the requirements of his/her employment duties and responsibilities.

The Achieving Women Award recognizes Penn State women who have shown notable leadership and are accomplished in their fields, have supported the University's diversity efforts and promoted equal opportunity, and/or have contributed to human causes and public service activities. These awards are presented to current employees and students of Penn State from each of the following categories: faculty, staff exempt, staff nonexempt, administrator, technical service, and undergraduate and graduate students (including postdoctoral fellows and scholars).

To submit nominations, visit or call the Commission for Women office at (814) 863-8493. Submissions are due no later than 5 p.m. Friday, Feb. 13. For more information, contact Auden Thomas, CFW chair-elect, at

Media Contacts: 
Last Updated January 10, 2015