Three mechanical engineers named ASME fellows

University Park, Pa. -- Three faculty members from the Department of Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering were recently named fellows of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME).

Timothy Simpson, professor of mechanical engineering and industrial engineering; Daniel Haworth, professor of mechanical engineering; and Kathryn Jablokow, associate professor of mechanical engineering at Penn State Great Valley, were recognized by ASME for their achievements and contributions to the engineering profession.

Simpson earned his Ph.D. from the Georgia Institute of Technology in 1998. His research in product family design and engineering design optimization earned him a National Science Foundation CAREER Award and a 2008 Penn State Engineering Society (PSES) Premier Research Award. Simpson has also received the Society of Automotive Engineers Ralph R. Teetor Educational Award, the 2007 President’s Award for Excellence in Academic Integration, the PSES Premier Teaching Award and the Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering Department Head Faculty Award.

Haworth earned his Ph.D. in mechanical engineering from Cornell University in 1986. Before becoming a faculty member at Penn State, Haworth worked as an adjunct associate professor of mechanical engineering at Oakland University in Rochester Hills, Mich., and a senior staff research engineer at General Motors in Warren, Mich. His research expertise is in the computational thermal-fluids sciences, including fluid mechanics, turbulence, combustion, numerical methods, IC engines and transportation propulsion systems. During his time at Penn State, Haworth has won several awards for excellence in teaching and academic advising including the Joel and Ruth Spira Teaching Award, the Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering Department Head Faculty Award, the Ralph R. Teetor Educational Award, the PSES Outstanding Advising Award and the NSF Outstanding Faculty Adviser Award.

Jablokow earned her Ph.D. in electrical engineering, with minors in mechanical engineering, control and mathematics, from Ohio State University in 1989. Jablokow’s primary research areas are robotics, computer dynamics, problem solving and creativity, and invention and creative design. From 2005 to 2008, she served as an associate editor for the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Robotics and Automation Magazine. Awards Jablokow has won for excellence in teaching include the Penn State Great Valley Teaching Excellence Award, the Penn State Collaborative Teaching Award, the W.M. Keck Foundation Engineering Teaching Excellence Award and the PSES Outstanding Teaching Award.

Media Contacts: 
Last Updated January 09, 2015