Four faculty inducted as distinguished educators

Four Penn State College of Medicine faculty were inducted into the Society of Distinguished Educators at an award reception on April 28.

This year’s inductees are Richard Courtney, chair of the Department of Microbiology and Immunology; Timothy Craig, professor of medicine and pediatrics, Division of Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care; Lisa Sinz, professor of anesthesiology and director of Penn State Hershey Simulation Center and Kent Vrana, Elliot S. Vesell professor and chair of the Department of Pharmacology.

The Society of Distinguished Educators is comprised of faculty who have received the Distinguished Educator Award. The Society is a key resource for faculty development in education, as well as a source of scholarly work and educational research.

The Mission of the Society is to promote excellence in the education of physicians and scientists through serving as an advocate for the educational mission, modeling successful teaching strategies, encouragement and mentoring of faculty as educators, providing a forum for exchange of ideas about teaching and curriculum, and optimizing the educational process through increased interaction between basic scientists and clinicians.

Each Distinguished Educator participates as an invited speaker in the Conversations with Distinguished Educators Seminar Series.

The Society of Distinguished Educators is supported by the Woodward Endowment for Medical Science Education.

Media Contacts: 
Last Updated November 18, 2010