Sathianathan named associate dean of academic programs at Cal State

Dhushy Sathianathan, head of the School of Engineering Design, Technology and Professional Programs (SEDTAPP), has been named associate dean of academic programs in the College of Engineering at the California State University, Long Beach.

His position became effective on Aug. 24. Sven Bilen, associate professor of engineering design, electrical engineering and aerospace engineering has been appointed as interim head of SEDTAPP. Tom Seybert, associate professor of surveying at Penn State Wilkes-Barre has been named director of Engineering Technology and Commonwealth Engineering.

As head of SEDTAPP, Sathianathan provided leadership for engineering and engineering technology programs at Penn State campuses throughout the Commonwealth, as well as for the Engineering Design, Engineering Entrepreneurship and Engineering Leadership Development programs at University Park.

Sathianathan first came to Penn State as a mechanical engineering graduate student in 1984. He earned his master's degree in 1986 and his doctorate in 1990, while teaching classes part time. In 1991, he assumed a tenure-track faculty position at the University. He was appointed head of SEDTAPP in 2002, following the retirement of former head Wayne Hager.

Sathianathan has been actively involved in engineering education initiatives since 1994. He has led several National Science Foundation-funded initiatives, particularly focused on student retention, to enhance engineering education. He is the co-founder of the Engineering Entrepreneurship Program and the Center for Engineering Design and Entrepreneurship at Penn State. Most recently, he has helped implement the new Center for Research in Design and Innovation that will support an interdisciplinary graduate program in design studies.

During his time at Penn State, Sathianathan has served as the chair of the Penn State Breazeale Nuclear Reactor Safeguard Committee, chair of the Faculty Senate-University Planning Committee, and chair-elect for the Engineering Technology Council in the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE).

He has received the Boeing Outstanding Educator Award, the Boeing Welliver Faculty Fellow Award and the ASEE-Dow Outstanding Faculty Award for his work in engineering education.

Media Contacts: 
Last Updated January 10, 2015