Cronin named recipient of 2011 Eric A. Walker Award

University Park, Pa. – Michael B. Cronin, a senior with a dual major in geosciences and petroleum and natural gas engineering, has been named the 2011 recipient of the Eric A. Walker Award.

The award is presented annually to the student who has contributed most to enhancing the reputation of the University through extracurricular activities. Walker was president of Penn State from 1956 to 1970.

Cronin is a member of the Schreyer Honors College. He has been active in his fraternity, Theta Chi, serving as risk manager, scholarship chair and campus involvement chair.

A member of the Penn State crew team, he served on the Club Sports Advisory Council and was a member of the University Park Allocation Committee, which oversees allocation of student activity fee funds.

He was finance director on the 2010 Penn State Homecoming Executive Committee and also served as director of training in 2009 and 2010 for Fresh START Day of Service, Penn State's largest day of service.

"Michael exhibits a true desire to leave a positive imprint on the Penn State campus," one nominator said. "He continues to strive to make his fellow students' Penn State experience a positive one."

Media Contacts: 
Last Updated March 21, 2011