Brodhead Cultural Center opens summer season with free concert

A free concert by Burke’s Bavarian Brass will open the 35th summer season of programming at the Penn State Beaver Brodhead Cultural Center. The concert will be held at 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, June 21, in the Cultural Center’s J. P. Giusti Amphitheater on Brodhead Road, Center Township, Pa. In the event of inclement weather, the concert will move inside to the Student Union Building auditorium.

This summer’s program sponsors include The Times, Clearview Federal Credit Union, and the Beaver Valley Musicians Union Local 82-545. All shows begin at 7:30 p.m. and open to the public. In addition, all shows, except the musical, are free.

The Center Theatre Players will present the musical, "A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum," Thursday, Friday, and Saturday, July 28, 29, and 30. The play will be held in the auditorium of the Student Union Building. Tickets are $15. Advance ticket purchase is recommended.

The rest of the summer schedule follows:

Tuesday, June 28 - Mark and Donna Groom
Tuesday, July 12 - Monaca Cornet Band
Tuesday, July 19 - Pittsburgh Banjo Club
Tuesday, Aug. 2 - Hopewell Community Big Band
Tuesday, Aug. 9 - Metropolitan Symphonic Band
Tuesday, Aug. 16 - Beaver County Symphonic Wind Ensemble
Tuesday, Aug. 23 - Boilermaker Jazz Band
Tuesday, Aug. 30 - Joe Grkman Polka Band

For information or tickets, contact the Brodhead Cultural Center at 724-773-3610 or br-bcc@psu.edu, or visit www.beaver.psu.edu/brodhead.

 

Contacts: 
Last Updated June 13, 2011