Outstanding employees earn annual awards

Penn State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center and Penn State College of Medicine recently recognized employees celebrating five-year service milestones and three outstanding employees who have made exceptional professional contributions to the organization.

Russ Knapp, safety specialist in the Medical Center’s Department of Safety, was named the 2010 Employee of the Year. The Employee of the Year award is given annually to one person recognized as an Employee of the Month during the previous calendar year.

For more than 30 years, Knapp has dedicated himself to preparing employees for an emergency response either through fire drills or training for internal and external disasters. His dedication and passion for his daily activities to protect and serve the Medical Center community are definitely noticed on a daily basis by all who come in contact with him.

The Steven and Sharon Baron Leadership Award, established in 2004, recognizes Medical Center employees who have demonstrated exceptional professional achievement, cooperation, and teamwork. The 2011 recipients are Darlene Schaffer, assistant director in Health Information Services, in the manager/supervisor category, and Nicole Kazmar, corporate communications specialist in Marketing and Communications, in the nonsupervisory category.

Schaffer has been acknowledged as a dedicated, committed and reliable employee of Hershey Medical Center for over 37 years. Kazmar, a Medical Center employee for nearly seven years, has been acknowledged for using her creativity, her reliability and her sense of humor, as well as her work in a team.

Media Contacts: 
Last Updated June 02, 2011